Simple Harmonic Motion for 16 Percussionists is a newly commissioned live performance by digital artist Memo Akten featuring 16 percussionists from the Royal Northern College of Music. Developed during a week long residency at FutureEverything, it premiered at the Opening Gala of the 2015 FutureEverything Festival. This beautiful, awe-inspiring and powerful sound and light performance stimulates the senses – an amplified and deconstructed interpretation of the simple, multilayered rhythmic patterns that form its source. It is inspired by natural and mathematical phenomena, as well as works by the likes of Norman Mclaren, John Whitney, Steve Reich and Gyorgi Ligeti.

Commissioned by FutureEverything in partnership with the Royal Northern College of Music, with support from Digital Innovation/The Shed, Manchester Metropolitan University.